Disney on Ice – Rockin’ Ever After

Billed as “a new twist on fairytale fun, favourite Disney characters compete to be the next superstar in comical segments leading up to the tales of show stopping princesses — Ariel, Rapunzel, Belle, and Merida from Disney•Pixar’s BRAVE in her ice debut!” – this show about the eighth Disney of Ice show I’ve seen with my kids, and my far my least favourite. This could be because we have so many and the novelty may have started to wear off, or because my daughters are now 8 and 11 and could be getting too old, or because I’ve seen better.


I think it’s the latter – we all love figure skating and despite what I wrote in Mickey Mouse Monopoly and in  More than just a Film, More than just a Toythere IS still something truly magical about the whole Disney Experience.

Because I am Scottish, I enjoyed the inclusion of Merida in this show and seeing kilts and bagpipes on the ice. Apart from that, this was a show that lacked a lot of the classic Disney characters and centred on the princesses from The Limited Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, Tangled, and Brave.

It was choppy and the storyline that was supposed to join each segment didn’t flow too well. There was a very noticeable lack of classic Disney tunes – which I find normally add to the magic – and a greater focus on some rock and pop tunes, hence the name of the show.


If you’ve seen a lot of Disney on Ice, and you just want a different show, then this is the one for you. If you’re looking to get your first tickets to Disney on Ice and/or take little boys along, this isn’t really the show for you. I’ve seen other show that have include all the classic characters, shows with just the princesses  or all the great Disney villains (which is the show my younger daughter enjoyed the most), and shows with the great animal characters like Timon and Puumba.

We got our tickets for free because we attended a Disney book drive and donated several brand new children’s book to charity, and we also got a chance to meet Belle, have photos taken with her, and have sneak preview of the show. A local news station covered the story here.
For more information, go to the Disney on Ice website, facebook page, or twitter feed.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Disney on Ice – Rockin’ Ever After

  1. Estelle Weyl says:

    I was thinking of taking my daughter to this, but dislike the sexism I find in most Disney material. Would you mind sharing your thoughts on how this production fares on blatant and subtle sexism. Thanks.

    Like

Please share your opinion, I'd love to know what you think...

