TDP Book Review: ‘A Week in Winter’ by Maeve Binchy.

Image

Click here for more information or to buy the book on Amazon.

I read my first “Maeve” in the eighties when I was only twelve years old. And even though I have an MA in English Lit and have read some of the best literature ever written, I still count ‘Light a Penny Candle’ as one of my favourite books ever. There’s no doubt in my mind whatsoever that it is Maeve Binchy’s finest and most well-written novel. I have read every single book she’s ever written – there’s a certain and special satisfaction that comes only from being able to say that I have read ALL of a person’s books.

So, as each new “Maeve” was published, I read and for the most part enjoyed them all. Some were definitely better than others and the adage “the earlier the book, the better the book” is good way to look at her work. What my friends, family and fellow Maeve fans all noticed as the years passed, was the each book and each set of new characters became less and less unique. I began to call each new novel her latest “Copy and Paste”. The settings changed, the names changed, and the general storyline changed but there was a definite air of formulaic writing. The characters all felt too familiar because we had met them before – except with other names, in other books.

A Week in Winter, Binchy’s posthumously published last work, is no different. It’s certainly no opus, no masterpiece. But recent figures published this week suggest that it will be her biggest ever Christmas blockbuster and sales have increased by almost 50% on her last book, Minding Frankie.

Do all these sales mean that we have a great work of literature on our hands? No. It means that people like me (and you) who have bought and read all of Binchy’s work have been faithful and loyal readers. In my honest opinion, A Week in Winter reads like an unfinished, unedited manuscript that was rushed to the printers after Binchy’s death so it could be published and on bookstore shelves before Christmas. Both plot and characters are thin and underdeveloped. The plot makes grand leaps without storyline and characterisation, that any (not just Binchy) reader will immediately recognise as being subplots that “needed more”. When reading the book, I found myself thinking on many times that Binchy would likely, in her own rewriting and editing process, have gone back to this spot and added and detail and developed the plot. The book itself is about two thirds the size of her usual books, and there were grammar mistakes galore. Orion would have done us all a favour if they’d have had it properly edited, but I doubt that would be reflected in the sales. This book will be a seller!!

A Week in Winter is set in a country house hotel on the west coast of Ireland and tells the stories of its staff and guests. All of the usual Binchy character types are there – from the older, eccentric but successful woman; another set of twins (in fact there are several); young woman struggling with a mean mother-in-law; the one who struggles but overcomes with the help of neighbours and friends; the one with the big secret; the handsome, unattainable bachelor; the children born out of wedlock;  the small-town Ireland mindset; the free spirited, big city of Dublin; and a whole host of characters and places from Scarlet Feather, Quentins, Minding Frankie, and Evening Class etc.

Buy the book. Read the book. You will be left with the same feeling of dissatisfaction that I was. Perhaps due in part because we know there will be no more Maeve Binchy books, and perhaps because we all know she was definitely past her best. I feel a tinge of disloyalty as I write this review – like I owe more to the woman who brought me one of my favourite books. I can’t fault Binchy’s optimism. Every book has a happy ending. Every book features a community of people coming together to help out family, friends and neighbours.  What’s not to love about that??

Binchy has sold over 40 million books in over 30 languages. A Week in Winter is available now online and in bookstores.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “TDP Book Review: ‘A Week in Winter’ by Maeve Binchy.

  1. Carmina Widmark says:

    Sorry, I have to disagree with this review! Yes, the reader automatically felt she/he instantly knew the characters but not because Maeve had merely changed places and names but because her style of writing was so exceptional and she was very clever at making the reader feel as if they were actually there! I love every single one of her books and sorry, but she will always be my favourite writer.

    Like

  2. Hi Carmina,

    Thanks for your comment. I knew, as I was writing, that many of Binchy’s fans would disagree with me. As I said in the review, I am a great fan and I did feel some pangs of disloyalty/betrayal as I wrote – but my review wouldn’t have been honest if I had not written my true feelings. Happy Reading!

    Like

  3. Jackie says:

    I totally agree with your review. I felt the novel was unfinished. In fact, I doubt the official story on its publication and find it likely that Binchy did not consider it finished. It is worth reading, but we don’t need to pretend that it is a masterpiece. The palm reading was as close as we got to an ending that ties things together, but it seemed more like a rushed placeholder until the real ending was devised. If I had known ahead of time that this was an unfinished novel, I may have been less disappointed. I will be going back and re-reading some of the older novels and hope that any new readers don’t give up if this is the first Binchy novel they read.

    Like

  4. Hi Jackie – thanks for reading and commenting. I completely fail to see how anyone could read this book as and feel it was a fully finished piece of work. I recently discovered another one she appears to have written before ‘A Week in Winter” called Full House – haven’t read it yet, but will review it as soon as I have. It’s a very short book about 100 pages or so. I’d be interested to hear what you think of it, if you have read it.

    http://www.amazon.com/Full-House-Maeve-Binchy/dp/1409136612

    Like

Please share your opinion, I'd love to know what you think...

